My brother

Once again it’s been a long while since I was here. Honestly, I simply didn’t know what to write about. Sure, I could have written about my husband leaving me, my car breaking down, going to London to visit my friend, getting the most beautiful sweetest cats in the world, my sister breaking off all communication with me, going to France on holiday with my father and stepmom, buying a new couch, getting blocked on Facebook by my in-laws, going on a city trip to Latvia with my friend, having a fight with my neighbors about a tree in my garden, my teaching job going great at two awesome music schools, going grocery shopping, painting my hallway, etc.

More than enough has been going on these past few months. I’ve been through the good and the bad, I had fun, I had pain, I had more fun, I had less pain, … It’s just life to have all sorts of stuff mixed together into a lovely cocktail of experiences and feelings, and it often doesn’t make sense to me how it can all be so entangled at the same time. There’s no need to analyse it though and I just go with the flow, trying to enjoy things as much as I can, even if it’s something as simple as watching my amazing tree in my garden at sunrise.

While my mind is going over the past year, one special person pops up. He was right there by my side while I went through the worst moments, allowing me to cry, making me laugh through my tears, listening patiently and trying to give me advice, or just making me feel understood, supported and loved.
This friendship started a long time ago, when I was 15 and he was 18 and we studied music together in Brussels. He never treated me like a foreigner or an adoptee, but like a human being and that was a first for me. Though we both went our separate ways as we grew older, we always kept in touch and managed to maintain our close bond. Even when he moved abroad, the distance didn’t come between us. In fact, I think it brought us even closer together because we both made the effort to find other ways to stay in each other’s lives.

Some say nothing is stronger than blood and family. Others say friendship is stronger because your friends are there by choice. I don’t care about blood bonds and being biologically related, obviously, nor do I care about who is my BFF. I have a few relatives who stick by me no matter what, and some who don’t give a damn. I have a few friends who would die for me, and many who aren’t worthy of being called a friend. And don’t even get me started about my actual biological family.

I am so lucky to have a family comprising a variety of the most wonderful people who ever walked the planet, which makes nature or nurture irrelevant. That’s why I call this friend my brother. He is always there, he always has been, he always will be. That’s what family is about.

Thanks broer.

 

Plaats een reactie